Women in ministry – Question

What is the role of a Pastor’s wife?

4 comments

  1. Well, I’m not sure I have an answer to your question. However, I found you while looking around for posts on women in ministry (something I wrote about recently in a post entitled Philemon). Keep up the good work!
    Shalom,
    Jonathan

    Like

    1. Hello Jonathan,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. I will read your post as soon as can. I think this is an important subject rarely discussed particularly by women. I hold the view that a pastor’s wife is a wife like any other wife. Being a pastor is job just like being a doctor or a politician etc. the job demands a certain way of life for the husband and the wife must support him as such. What do you think. It can be quite confusing for a pastor’s wife as people tend to have various expectations of her some of which are unrealistic. Anyway, please let me know if you find any interesting posts or information on this.
      Thanks again.

      Like

      1. I’ll keep an eye out for posts on this! One thing you said did spark a thought. I think the idea of different people having various expectations is huge! Not just different people within the congregation. But if a pastoral couple moves around a few times in their career each church seems to have different ideas as well. It’s impossible to meet all of those different ideas and expectations.

        Like

  2. Hi Jonathan,

    I have read your post on the issue. People, mostly men and some women too do have strong views about women being in ministry. The issues are twofold for me;

    The role of a pastor’s wife: I think scripture can support the position that she can be in God anything her husband needs her to be and also allows her to be as long as he provides the spiritual covering and headship for her.

    The role of a woman in ministry – now, this is where most of the contention is. I am a woman in ministry and from the few I have seen around there are those who have been allowed and licensed to step out and are under authority and are doing great where they are not overly restricted or quarantined into areas of ministry like children’s ministry or women’s ministry but are allowed to fulfil their calling in other areas whatever that may be.

    There are also those who fight to be free to do as they feel led to do and often the stories aren’t great.

    So the dilemma for me is this;
    As a woman in ministry, do I just agree to remain under authority and only do what is deemed fit for me as a woman not just by my husband but by the church leadership local and global?
    Or do I give full reign to what I feel my calling is and step out irrespective of the restrictions?
    Both choices have great consequences and I will like to see more women in ministry discussing this issue particularly the practicalities involved.
    In terms of scripture, there are as many scriptures which seem to be telling women to step out as there are those which restrict women or appear to be disqualifying them. Each must be taken in context.

    If there are any bloggers particularly women, I will be interested in listening to their views too.

    Sorry for the long reply Jonathan. I appreciate your views and time spent on this. Thanks.

    Like

State your views......please.

