Why am I here?- Poem by Selasie Bulmuo

A seed falls to the ground.

With no idea what awaits it

Soon a liitle plant peers out

It catches its first glimpse of life

My life started like the seed’s

It all began in mother’s womb

I had no idea what the world had for me

But the day came When I had my first glimpse of lifehappy

 

Where am I? What am I doing here?

I gave a shrill cry

Everyone around broke into smiles

They seemed to be saying ;

‘Welcome to the world little one We are yet to find the answers too’.

Soon I began to grow I learnt to sleep, laugh, walk and talk

Without knowing why I shouldhappy

 

Where am I? What am I doing here?

I still couldn’t find the answers

I continued to grow

I learnt to acquire wealth, knowledge and prestige

Without really knowing whyhappy

 

Why am I here? What am I doing here?

Eating, sleeping, relating,

Wealth, knowledge, prestige

These didnt hold the answer.

One day I looked out my window

Out there stood a tree

It was once just a seed

Now its fruits were cast

And on the ground were new seeds

Then in a flash, I got my answer

The answer to my questions.happy

 

Why am I here?

To identify my gift

And make it available to othershappy

 

What am I doing here?

I’m fulfilling my mission

The purpose of my existence

The reason I was placed In my mother’s womb

The fruits I bear now

Will carry the seeds for the next generationhappy

YOU ARE ONLY HERE FOR A SHORT TIME

State your views......please.

