Oh Mother – Poem by Akosua Oforiwah

 

 

“who put that there?, clean that up!

Whose things are those, who left the pot on the stove?

That’s mother’s voice
 
Nobody gets why she shouts to get things done
 
But for mother shouting is the only language they hear
 
But inside her heart are soft prayers for her children
 
“You would show me who would do it for you when I’m not around” she says
 
But then she whispers to herself ” Lord keep me here longer for these ones”
 
What she lacks in words she shows it in deeds.
 
Always thinking of everybody but herself
 
She never learned how to say no to them
 
Her patience never wears out 
 
So she never gives up
 
Not on me learning how to read and write or learning how to cook when I became a teenager
 
Or becoming a good wife when the time came
 
Mother teaches well
 
Her kind heart nothing can compare
 
That’s how she was made
 
To be a mother
 
The embodiment of that which builds, heals and prepares
 
The strength of an army all in one
 
But she doesn’t realise it
 
She looks through the spectacle of life 
 
And all she sees are the hearts of her children which might be broken
 
And how helpless she feels 
 
Cus  she can’t protect them from all there could be
 
Oh mother
 
She doesn’t even hear when I say thank you 
 
So I decided to thank God for her instead 
 
Just the worry in her eyes is enough to break my heart
 
Yet there’s enough strength in her to give you 2 pieces of wisdom
 
I love you mother
 
For all God made you to be
 
I now understand why father always said “it had to be you”
 
My mother
 
IT HAD TO BE HER
State your views......please.

