ENOUGH SAID!!! - Articles by Selasie Bulmuo

Eating In or Out?

 

 

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. (Revelation 3:20 KJV).

I recently had the experience of hearing a loud banging on my front door at home. I was quite annoyed by the noise and said to myself that it better be something important or I will be quite upset with the person. As you may have already guessed, it wasn’t. It was a heavily built man on his rounds checking to see if I needed my old washing machine disposed of. I calmly said no and he left.

I can imagine that the scenario would have been different if perhaps he was someone I knew or had heard of or even someone familiar and important to me. I will have been very happy to see him and will have invited him in. If it was an emergency, I can imagine that the man will have continued to bang on the door until I let him in no matter how much I tried to ignore. Although not an emergency in this case, his banging on the door was annoying enough to get me to answer it quickly.

My point is you and I are not likely to let a stranger in to our house, possibly not even in an emergency. A stranger will not expect to be invited in either. They will state their mission at the door and will depart without coming in. So when I read a bible verse that tells me that Jesus is standing at the door of my life and is knocking and wants to come in, I immediately acknowledge that he must consider himself not a stranger to me.

You see the bible says that he knows you and I even before we were formed in our mother’s wombs. ‘Thus saith the Lord, thy redeemer, and he that formed thee from the womb, I am the Lord that maketh all things; that stretcheth forth the heavens alone; that spreadeth abroad the earth by myself'(Isaiah 44:24 KJV). ‘Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations’. (Jeremiah 1:5 KJV).

You see, he knows you better than anyone else and is well acquainted with your most private thoughts, your heart desires, your heart cries, your fears and worries etc. He also knows your purpose, your potentials and what he made you to be. That is why he never lets up. He persistently continues to knock at your door so he can rekindle a relationship with you. I hope you listen and hear his voice.

People usually associate this verse with unbelievers who need to be born again and rightly so, but there are Christians whose relationship with Jesus has lost its fervour. You know him and he knows you but he is shut out from the various important areas of your life, only remembered in times of crisis or on special days like Easter and Christmas. You occasionally open the door in response to his knock but refuse to let him come in. You will like to sup with him, just not in your house. You exhibit him as your Lord to everyone but you refuse to hand over the real issues of your life to him. Everyone knows you as a Christian, you talk the talk but refuse to walk the walk with him.

He is standing at the door of your life and is still knocking. He is no stranger. He loves you and wants a reconciliation with you. He says if you hear his voice (recognise him) and you let him in, he will sup ( dine ) with you and you with him.

Eating is the activity of choice for those who aim to bond or get to know each other better. When you eat with someone you are opening up to them in a personal way. It is difficult to eat with your enemy, you may choke on your food and he / she will not assist you. You take intimacy and familiarity to another level when you eat with someone especially when you do so in the intimacy of your home. You end up discussing all sorts and being very open and relaxed with each other. It signifies that you are confident about the credentials of the person and that this is not likely to be the first or the last meal together, that you are considering that person as part of your life and future.

Jesus wants to take your relationship with him to another level. Will you listen for his knock and will you answer the door and let him in. Will you let him dine with you? He promises that he will return the honour and let you in too so you can dine with him. Do you know what that means? It means he will give you free access to all that he is and has? What a privilege.

‘While it is said, Today if ye will hear his voice, harden not your hearts, as in the provocation’. (Hebrews 3:15 KJV).

Enough said!!!!

1 thought on “Eating In or Out?”

State your views......please.

