POEMS

Its A Man’s World – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo

 

Engines cranking

People bustling

Hurry  hustler

No slow lane here

 

Faces set

Ready to roll

Muscles bulging

It’s all about the adrenaline

 

No mirrors here

No pretty beauty queens

No stilettos and painted toes

This is a man’s world

 

To walk in my shoes

You must be swift footed

‘Cos where persuasion fails

Force must be applied

 

Fools get trashed here 

Ego and Ambition

Disguised as Diplomacy

Sharp wittedness is key

 

It’s a race for supremacy

I have to be the best

Crown me king of the jungle

This Jungle in the city

 

No one tells you

The other side of the story

Much motion, less progress

Worn out, false bravado

 

Refuelling needed

Downtime in my hiding place

The lion’s mane needs stroking

When all is done and quiet

 

Real men are made or maimed here

Alone with a kingmaker

Whispers of encouragement

Or words of disdain

 

Crowns for my head

Or arrows in my heart

If I loose my nerve

I can no longer roar

 

I need my inner shout renewed

Not my kingly mane cut off

Which ever fate I meet

Decides how I return

 

Conqueror or conquered

Can I hack it in a man’s world?

It’s all linked you see,

A man’s world and the real world

 

There’s no telling

Which I think I am in

A man’s world, is it really?

My hold is weak, if she so chooses

 Winner or Looser, you choose

 

3 thoughts on “Its A Man’s World – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo”

State your views......please.

