Stilettos And Pumps – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo

 

Are you a stiletto lady

Or a pump woman

 

The two are different

You know

 

One is high

By reason of leverage

 

The other is lower

By reason of choice

 

Choice? she said

I have no choice

 

My task decides

Which one I wear

 

I can do both well

But not all at once

 

I find that often

I can do just one

 

Going to my office

I need my stilettos

 

At home in the kitchen

Best wear my pumps

 

Night out with my guy

I need my stilettos

 

Chilling out by the pool

Both are discarded

 

Out on the streets

Which one will do?

 

It all depends

If I am serving or being served

 

Can’t wear stilettos

To feed the hungry

 

Can’t wear stilettos

To clean the grime

 

Can’t wear stilettos

When others are so low

 

Got to come down a notch

And rhyme with the masses

 

Can’t wear stilettos

Oh no not today

 

I have work to do

They do not match my dungarees

 

Come the evening light

And you might mistake me for the stars

 

Cos that’s the time

I chuck my pumps

 

I can rock both ways

Heck more ways than two

 

That’s me you see

I can abase and abound.

 

 Sometimes slow down, come down, you’re too high up there.

6 comments

    1. Hmmm, are we (ladies) deep down still on the look out for our princes or trying to impress them once we’ve found them…… with our stilletos?
      So what will impress the prince?

      Thanks Eric

      Like

State your views......please.

