Do You Want Me Now? – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo

 

Phone ringing

No responses

You said you’ll call

Here I am still waiting

Words so sweet

Laid upon my pillow

Said you will be true

Now you are no where to be found

 

Said you meant every word

Said I was the bomb

The one and only

An experience indeed

Like one in a dream

Slowly waking up

In the glare of daylight

You are no where to be found

 

I gave you my best

Freely on a silver platter

No fees paid, no sweat broken

You walk away, thinking you’re free

But you tossed and lost

Your credit’s run out

You’ve touched the tail of a viper

The venom is unsavoury

 

I am a woman scorned

My lesson, I have learnt

As a gift I am not free

My prize is worth the price

I’ ll track you down

I will haunt you so

All sweetness is gone

You took it all away.

I’m marked with your stamp

Now you have delivery, wanted or not

 

A faithful stalker, I will be

Until you’ve paid

The price you dodged

Don’t turn around

You might see me following

You can’t escape

I am everywhere

I will make you yearn

For freedom’s light

My captive unwilling

You will remain

So tell me this

Do you want me now?

 Revenge is not the answer. Learn your lesson. Move on!!

State your views......please.

