POEMS

About Blogging – Oh My Blog! What have you done to me? – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo`

I was just sitting typing away

Minding my own business

‘You write a lot’ he said

‘Why don’t you share it with others?’

 

‘But I share a lot already’ I replied

This is for my eyes only

I do all I can for others

There isn’t much more I can do

 

Even now, my life’s congested

Taking care of home and kids

Dont forget I have work and church too

How do you propose I find more time

To share the things I write?

 

‘It’s so easy’ he said.

No need to write them twice

Just ‘post’ your notes on a ‘blog’

And that’s enough, it has been shared.

 

‘I am not convinced’ I said

I don’t know much about ‘posts’, ‘shares’ and ‘blogs’.

But I think it does take more

Than what you’ve just infered.

 

And anyway, the things I write

They are just scribbles to me

You know how I love to scribble

Don’t think it will be very exciting

For others to read  my silly scribbles

 

What was it you said I should do?

What was the word again?

Blog? Blogging?

It sounds most peculiar

Like some kind of sickness

Which is very hard to shift

 

I have just learnt about status updates

Which I now do religiously

For the two twin brothers

Popularly called Facebook and Twitter

And now I have to ‘blog?’

 

If you are reading this now

It is prove the blog did start

Don’t ask me to tell you how 

But turns out I was right all along

About blogs, about blogging

 

It voracious when it captures a victim

Far worse than an infection could be

Now I am totally hooked

Hooked on this dis-Ease

 

As if I wasn’t held hostage already

By those two captive masters,

Popularly called Facebook and Twitter

I have to ‘post’ and link my blog to them.

Now I’m captive more than twice over

To my very own jailer called ‘blog’

Who forces me to cavort endlessly

With the twins, Facebook and Twitter

 

As if that’s not enough

‘Blog’ has spread me very thin

I have to serve and wait upon

The other cousins of the family too

Digg, Press This, Linked In, Stumble Upon, Google…..

Phew! I’m out of breath just naming them all.

 

I am not complaining, not at all

It’s so much fun and that’s the truth

So fun I can do nothing else

What is spare time now?

There’s none to spare

 

I am addicted to ‘likes’ and ‘comments’

And that strange one called ‘plug -ins’

I plug in so much I am all plugged out

I live for each new ‘hit’ I see

 

The very weird thing is this

It is just like keeping another home

‘Blog’ must be tidied over and over again

It must be presentable, warm and welcoming too

 

So I now have two homes to care for

I clean, I weed, I greet, I share, I tweak……

What’s more shocking, there’s others just like me

It’s a whole community of thinkers,.. errr… captives

We hang out, we spy, sometimes we comment

Oh dear, I am so stuck and loving it too

Can’t seem to shift this sickness called ‘blog’.

Oh Blog! Give us a break! Don’t want to share my thoughts today.

6 thoughts on “About Blogging – Oh My Blog! What have you done to me? – Poem by Selasie Bulmuo`”

  1. I love this poem. Great work. I cant stop laughing. Its nice to finally sit down at the end of the day when the kids have gone to bed and read a piece like this. I identify so much with the character being a mum myself. Its very funny, yet not a joke!!

    Like

    1. We will come find you. By the way what will you look like? The picture I see here looks a lot like Eric. I expect his ‘Gravatar’ to look like someone straight out of a fiction adventure series set in the medieval ages. GRAVATAR – sounds wild and ancient doesn’t it? Where do they get these terms from?

      Like

State your views......please.

