This Blog is…..

It is where I share my thoughts, not all of them, just some choicest ones packaged in shiny boxes and tied up with strings and bows just for you.

This is where I reflect on life and living and share my musings immaculately gleaned with you.

I pass life through my unique personal lenses and it comes out in a poem, a rhyme, a quote, a verse, a picture, a story, jumbled up sentences all uniquely designed by me.

In sharing these I share myself.

I hope you enjoy this grand table laid for you and please leave a thought, a note, a thank you, something of yourself, so the table is never empty and you stay connected.

That is the way it was meant to be.

I also blog at:

www.neitherdoicondemnyou.wordpress.com – Christian writings, stories and discussions

www.socialjackpotbuddy.wordpress.com – Social issues, discussions about social policy and occurences in the society and in the media.

So who am I ?  (ABOUT Selasie Bulmuo)

Someone recently asked me three lovely questions.  These are the answers straight from my heart.  They tell a bit about me . So here goes……..

  1. What does identity mean to you?

Identity to me means understanding all the facets of my life and how they fit into the big picture so that I am able to accept who I truly am (both my past and present) and to use this as a stepping stone and something to work with on my journey to becoming all I am destined to be ( which because of my faith is totally linked to God‘s revelation to me of myself and of my future).

My identity is found and expressed in;

  • Who I know I am (Not just according to me but also according to the word of God)
  • The things I do – My life’s purpose, the reason  I think I exist
  • The things I refuse to do – My boundaries and principles and Values
  • My commitment to what and who I am becoming.

(Notice, I didn’t include what I have, because that can be taken away and I still have to be me).

2.    Why you do you write?

I found out at an early age that I loved solitude and my own company. When I am alone and undisturbed, inspired thoughts come to me, which often clarify something I have experienced or observed in my own life or in the lives of others. These often help me answer the ‘W’ questions – Why? What? Who? When? Where?  When I was a child I did not know how to use this gift properly and will write long letters to my parents, friends and others expressing my disgust at something which they had done or said which I felt was wrong.

It was only later that I realised that my writing was a gift from God to be used specifically to question life and to provide answers or routes out of dysfunction. Many find ‘life’ difficult and confusing. Many write to educate others on different topics. Unlike them I do not consider myself an expert. I write first and foremost to give myself a chance to make sense of life. I write so that I can take a walk of reflection with someone else, so they know they are not alone in the way they feel, so my words can give expression to what they feel but cannot fully express or make sense of as yet. In coming to an understanding of the ‘whys’ they can perhaps begin to live life on an even keel with some strength and fortitude, finding and paving a way through the darkness that sometimes surrounds us all. I like to think that I am a voice in the gap between where we are now and where we would like to be.

I think I will have mental overload if I stoped writing. My brain and thinking processes will get blocked. Writing is almost an offloading process for me.

Writing comes easily to me. It is a great blessing.

3.   What does it mean to be a woman?

Well, since I could very easily write volumes on this, to help me be brief, I will answer it in a poem.

Being Woman is versatility

Changing change itself

Being Woman is richness held in store

A bank that never runs out

Being Woman is beauty covering strength

Making the undo-able do-able

With grace and fortitude

Being woman is unveiling true greatness

Through sheer tenacity of spirit and grit

Without showing signs of breaking a sweat

Being woman is gentleness that remains true

And is not disfigured by pressure

Being woman is wisdom expressed

In more ways than the obvious

Being woman is elegance

Revealed through humility

Being woman is virtue

Having the ability to rise to every challenge

Being woman is Influence

Often without saying a word

A Woman is:

Softness, enfolding pain and healing it

Hardness, bringing change even without provision

Endurance, the expression of staying power

The kind only God can give

Woman is me

Whatever I need to be

To meet the needs in my world

Woman is embracing my uniqueness

As a treasure and a gift

That cannot be undone

The future awaits me

It is all mine

I am WOMAN !!!

4 comments

State your views......please.

